Word to the Mic

devoA bookstore and a couple of gift cards to burn is a dangerous combination.  Along with the latest issue of Wax Poetics, I bought The Anthology of Rap and How to Rap: The Art and Science of the Hip Hop MC.

Believe me, the idea of rapping as a 41 year old, white, suburban professional is as silly to me as it is to all of you, my three or four readers.  But I did see some spoken word over at Love Jones a few weeks ago, along with discovering Kate Tempest a few weeks before that, and the idea of turning a story into spoken word is interesting.

But that’s not the subject of this post.

The introduction to How to Rap talks of four skills that a rapper develops:  content, flow, writing, and delivery.  I can’t help but think that these four pillars are equally present in all forms of storytelling.  I tried to think of analogues for the kind of storytelling that I do, but it’s the exact same thing.

When I look at my own chops as a storyteller, I see ways I can develop in all four areas.  I think that in future posts, I’ll reflect on each area as I read about them, and what I can do to work on my own skills accordingly.  And who knows?  Maybe you see me spitting on a stage near you someday.

Leave a Reply

